Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Purpose

Clearing local database (and following reloading issues from server) may be required to optimize JIRA Client performance, or to reset local database that has invalid state.

When you clear the local database, you remove all issues and metadata downloaded from the server. Local tags, local changes and some other information is also removed.

Preparations

Please make sure you have all your information backed up, as described below.

Upload all local changes

When database is cleared, all local changes are lost. So before proceeding, upload all changes you don't want to lose to the server. To do so, use Connection | Upload Changes menu item and wait until Synchronizing... message in the status bar disappears.

Back up local tags

If you use Favorites or other local tags, and would like to keep them after database is cleared, you need to back them up. Export all the tags you would like to preserve using Local Tags Export and Import. You will need to import them back after database is cleared.

Back up workspace

This will make sure you will be able to run JIRA Client with the old workspace if anything goes wrong. See How to Backup Your Workspace.

Procedure

To clear JIRA Client local database:

  1. Make sure you have uploaded local changes, backed up local tags and backed up workspace, as advised above.
  2. Stop JIRA Client if it is running.
  3. Locate workspace directory.
  4. Manually remove items.db and items.db-journal files in the workspace directory.
  5. Start JIRA Client.
  6. Reload JIRA configuration using Connection| Reload JIRA Configuration menu item. (The full synchronization may have started on its own - see the application status bar.)
  7. Run queries that you'd like to have downloaded to the local database.
  • No labels