Page tree

You are viewing documentation for Structure Cloud. For Server or Data Center, see Structure Docs.

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Like structures, views can be shared with different levels of access for each group of users.

There are four levels of access to a view:

None

The view is not visible nor usable by the user.

Use

Read-only access: the user can use the view, but cannot modify it.

Update

The user can use the view, and also save view adjustments as the new version of the view. The user cannot modify view name or sharing permissions.

Manage

The user can change any of the view's properties and also can delete it.

The view owner always has Manage access to a view.

People who have only Use permission for a view still can add, remove or rearrange columns, but they can't save the modified configuration as a new version of the view. They can use the Save As link to create a new view with the modified configuration.

Changing permissions

If you have Manage access to a view, you can modify its permissions. To do so, locate the view in the Views Menu and click the Edit button.

Go to the Sharing tab of the view details dialog.

For each level of access, you can define categories of users who have this type of access:

  • Nobody
  • Specific user groups
  • Specific roles in specific projects
  • Everyone (including anonymous users)

Higher-level access implies all lower-level access. So everyone who can Manage a view, can also Update and Use it - there is no need to add those users at all three levels!

If you do not see the Sharing tab, you do not have Manage access for the view.

  • No labels