Page tree

You are viewing documentation for Structure Server and Data Center version 5.5 and patch releases. For other versions, see Version Index or Structure Cloud.

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

By default, Structure is accessible to anyone who has Browse permission on structure-enabled projects. You can further restrict this access level to one or more user groups.

To select who can use Structure:

  1. Navigate to Administration | Structure | Configuration.
  2. Click Select Structure Users.
  3. Select whether Structure should be available to Everyone or to Users in selected groups/roles.
  4. In the latter case, change the selected groups/roles list by selecting the second radio button and use the Add Group/Role section to add one or more required user groups or project roles. To set up required property, use the drop-down selectors to choose either Group or Project option, then choose the required group name or project/role combination and press the Add button to add it to the list. If project is set to "Any", this means that the user should be in the specified role for any of structure-enabled projects.
  5. You can remove the permission option by clicking the trashcan icon on the right of the option. 
  6. Click Apply when done or Cancel to dismiss your changes.

Which projects are enabled for the Structure also affects Who Has Access to the Structure.

When Structure is enabled for anyone, even anonymous visitors will have access to Structure. To make Structure accessible to only logged in users, restrict access to the jira-users group.

Structure maintains a cache of users permissions with regards to each structure. In most cases, the cache is recalculated automatically, but in some cases Structure may miss a change in a user's groups or roles. This could mean that the changed permissions for the user do not take effect until several minutes later (but only with regards to Structure Permissions).

A user can force the cache to be recalculated by doing a hard refresh from the browser. Typically, it's done by holding Ctrl or Shift or both and clicking the Refresh button.