Page tree

You are viewing documentation for Structure Server and Data Center version 5.5 and patch releases. For other versions, see Version Index or Structure Cloud.

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

IMPORTANT! Please read.

When sync runs, the updates will be made on behalf of the user who installed the synchronizer! Any change that a synchronizer makes when reconciling data between Structure and Jira is performed on behalf of the user who created the synchronizer, not the user who ran the synchronizer.

This is really important to understand. Consider the following settings:

  • You create a Structure and you set up structure permissions so that anyone can edit the structure.
  • You have Link Issues permissions on a project and you install Links synchronizer to have children issues linked to their parent issue.

Now, anyone can edit the structure - add issues there, remove issues from there and rearrange the issues in the structure. Every change of the structure will lead to adding and removing links between the affected issues on your behalf - even if the user who changes the structure does not have Link Issues permission!

So when using synchronizer, Structure edit permissions implicitly grant limited permissions to make changes according to the synchronizer's algorithm, as well as issue permissions implicitly grant limited permissions to edit the structure.

For all existing synchronizers, the creator's username can be found in Run as User column on the synchronization settings page. Before executing the transaction, Jira validates the user's permissions and then records the result together with the username in the log.