Migrating structure data lets you import one or more structures from a different JIRA instance after you have imported projects with the JIRA's Project Import operation. Also, you can add some structures from a backup file to those that are already present in JIRA.
Migrating structure will not affect issues in any way. The issues that make up the hierarchy should already exist in JIRA. You may need to run JIRA project import or the standard JIRA data restore first - see Structure Backup, Restore and Migration.
During migration the issues in the structures are located in JIRA by their issue keys and a possibly new numeric ID is being used to construct the structure. A structure cannot be migrated if it refers to issues from a project that is missing in JIRA.
When migrating a structure and there's already an existing structure with the same ID or name, you will have an option to either replace the existing structure with the structure from the backup, or restore the structure from backup as a separate structure, or skip this structure.
To migrate structures from backup:
Under the list of structures there's a list of additional restore options:
Restore Structure Permissions
If selected, the plugin will attempt to restore the access permissions for the imported structures. This attempt may fail, for example, if the permission rules refer to users or groups not present in JIRA. If you don't select this option, or if the attempt to restore permissions fails, then the restored structure will have no permission rules, letting JIRA administrators further configure them through Manage Structures page.
If selected, the synchronizers for selected structures are restored.
Synchronizers configuration is imported as-is, and might not make sense on a new JIRA instance. After you have restored synchronizers, please visit Synchronization Settings page to check if the synchronizers are configured correctly.
Restore Structure History
If selected, structures are imported along with their history (if it is present in the backup file). If not selected, structures will have no history.
Restore User Favorites
If selected, the plugin will try to restore "favorite" marks made by users for the selected structures.
If selected, all views from the backup files will be restored. If there's a conflict and a view with a given ID already exists, Structure will first verify if the view being restored is different from the one in the system, and if it is, restore it as a new view with a different ID.
Restore View Settings for Structures
If selected, view settings for the selected structures will be restored.
After structures have been migrated, open Structure | Manage Structure page to see if new structures are there.
As of version 3.3, Migrate Structure does not support Structure.Testy or Structure.Pages data.